Tryouts

UPDATE 9/10/17: After the most competitive and robust tryout in MMT history, we’ve announced our 2017-2018 Preliminary Roster. Congratulations to everyone who made the team! We look forward to another great year of mock trial. For those interested in mock trial in the future, we’ll continue to update this page with details for next year’s tryout.

 

UPDATE 8/31/17:

TRYOUT PACKET RELEASED

You can download the complete tryout packet HERE. The packet includes details on MMT, available roles, schedule, required forms, tryout criteria, tryout process, and tryout material.

Please signup ASAP for a tryout slot, which you can do HERE: menlomocktrial.org/tryoutslots

Before the tryout, please email a copy of your tryout form and conflict sheet (in the packet) to our Head Coach, Thom Scher, at thom.scher@gmail.com. Worst case, bring a copy of the documents to the tryout. Any students who fail to complete these documents will not receive a role on Menlo Mock Trial.

CLARIFICATION: For Part III Argument/Monologue, you get to choose and prepare a 60 second argument (any topic) or a monologue (any source) of your choice. 

*** Menlo Mock Trial Tryout Details ***

Tryout Schedule:

  • MMT Student Info-Session (Lunch): August 31st, 11:50AM in Room A238
  • MMT Tryout Packet Release (Evening): August 31st, 7PM via email
  • MMT Tryout Practice-Session and Demos: September 6th, 6p-8p in A238
  • MMT Parent Info-Session (Evening): September 6th, 7PM – 8PM in Martin
  • MMT Tryout Coach/Returner Office Hours: September 8th, 4p-8p in A238
  • MMT Tryouts: September 9th, 9am – 5pm in A238
  • MMT Roster Announcement: September 9th, 7pm via email

Tryout Process:

Beginning at 7PM on August 31st students will have access to the complete tryout packet, and have the opportunity to sign up online for a tryout slot. Tryouts are on Saturday, September 9th. The average tryout is 5 minutes, features 4 brief parts, and is conducted in front of a coaches panel. At the end of tryouts, the Varsity and JV coaches release rosters with tentative roles. Depending on the turnout, some students, unfortunately, do not make the team in any capacity. If you can’t make the 9/9/17 tryout, but still want to join the team, contact Dan Devitt immediately.

MMT offers two tryout practices for students seeking advice/feedback, and a parent informational meeting as well. The first tryout practice (6pm-8pm on 9/6/17) will provide demos of the tryout material; the second session (4p-8p on 9/8/17) is more of an elective session, where coaches and alumni are present to provide feedback before the tryout the next day. Students can drop in to the 2nd session at any time during the 4 hour block. The parent meeting (7p-8p on 9/6/17) will be held in Martin Hall to clarify any questions. These sessions are not required, but are encouraged.

Students who make the JV team, or who are in a pre-trial role (at any level) will begin training on the CA Case, released the week after tryouts. Students who make the Varsity Team will begin training on the Providence Case, where they will form a Providence ‘B’ Team that will travel to Colorado to compete. Providence ‘A’ and ‘B’ combine to represent the MMT Varsity Squad, which will work as a unit on the CA case after Providence. Due to Menlo policy regarding out of state competitions, we need to ask Providence competitors to make a payment of ~$750 for the trip, though funds are available to make the trip possible for all eligible students.

What is performed at the tryout (more info in the packet):

  • Part I, Introductions and Forms (available in packet)
  • Part II, 60s Pre-Scripted Performance: (chosen from 4 options)
  • Part III, 60s Selection Performance: (inspired by prompts)
  • Part IV, Discussion: (with the coaches following performance)

Current team members you can contact if you have questions:

Ashli Jain ashli.jain@menloschool.org 11th
Ben Shaw ben.shaw@menloschool.org 12th
Makayla Conley makayla.conley@menloschool.org 12th
Melody Zhou melody.zhou@menloschool.org 11th
Natalia Cordon natalia.cordon@menloschool.org 12th
Rishi Varma rishi.varma@menloschool.org 12th
Sanjana Karamcheti sanjana.karamcheti@menloschool.org 12th
Tiffany Tam tiffany.tam@menloschool.org 12th
Toni Rende Toni.rende@menloschool.org 12th